The trouble with belts…

That dress I bought yesterday? I wore it today. I love it. It was worth spending some of my end of month pennies on, honestly. It’s so pretty!

The belt that came with it, though – not so hot. It’s a fabric belt with a plastic buckle and poppers to enable one to ensure that it stays closed. Great. Unless you’re a size 16 with a 31 inch waist, and the belt won’t even do up on your uber-skinny 26 inch waisted boyfriend (yes, Euan is distinctly narrow-waisted). Sorry, H&M, but your one-size-fits-all policy isn’t working out for me!

I really wanted to wear my red tights with it, but when I started rooting around in my drawer I realised they’d gone – must’ve thrown them away in my big holey-tights clearout last spring! So am now on the lookout for a new pair. They’ve gotta be quite thick and quite high quality. I might follow Shoegal’s lead and check out MyTights*.

Still, loving the dress!

Black- white and grey1 Black- white and grey2

 

Coat: charity shop, embellishment added by me
Leopard print belt: Topshop
Chunky plastic beads: charity shop
Red hair band: had since I was little!
Black dress: H&M
Black patent belt: Primark
White puff-sleeve blouse: Primark
Grey tights: Primark
T-bar shoes: Bertie

*EDIT: Nipped out at lunchtime and got some Charnos 60d red opaques in Fenwicks – next outing I shall be wearing these!

2 thoughts on “The trouble with belts…

Leave a Reply

