Honest Blogger Award

The lovely GC of Radioventriloquist awarded me my first blogger award. So I’m passing it on!

“When you receive the prize you must write a post showing it, together with the name of who has given it to you, and link them back.
Choose a minimum of 7 blogs (or more) that you find brilliant in their content or design.
Show their names and links and leave them a comment informing they were prized with ‘Honest Weblog’.
Show a picture of those who awarded you and those you give the prize (optional).
List [if you can and/or dare] at least ten honest things about yourself. And then, pass it on.”
My seven eight:

Ten Honest Things About Me
1. I struggle horribly with my weight. It’s a real issue for me, one with a long history and one to which all my insecurities eventually link back. This blog is one way in which I attempt to keep my negative self-image under control.

2. Linking to the above, I photograph incredibly well. Anyone who knows me in person knows I do not look as good in day-to-day life. Which is worrying. I do not have brilliant cheekbones like in my pictures, I have several chins and I slouch.

3. My hair is now finally back to its natural colour. After a few years of both highlighting and/or darkening it.

4. I write as therapy. If I’m at the end of my tether I just have to get it all on paper to ease the pressure slightly. Often I read my thoughts back and cringe, but every now and then I read them back and feel proud.

5. I am an absolutely useless flirt. I don’t know how to do it and I never have. And I didn’t know this until I suddenly became single again.

6. I cry at everything. Films, TV, books, songs, adverts, soaps, overheard conversations, people I see meeting other people off trains… everything. And I cry as much from happiness as I do from sadness. Tears just seem to be an ever-ready part of my make up!

7. Sometimes I am afraid of the dark too, GC!

8. Sometimes I enjoy drinking alone. A glass of wine in front of a favourite TV show or film while I paint my toenails red is one of my favourite nights in.

9. I love Strictly Come Dancing. The sequins, the hips, the elegance, all of it. I WISH I could dance properly. And while it’s on, if I’m home alone, I have been known to put on a frock and heels and spin around the living room. I’ve been known to do the same with The King and I. And also to pirouette across the kitchen floor in my stockinged feet while waiting for the kettle to boil… Golly – that may be too much honesty!

10. I’m terrified of earwigs. *shudder*
5 thoughts on “Honest Blogger Award

  1. I don’t believe you about the chins/cheekbones – you just can’t fake that kind of bone structure (and I’m totally jealous of it) :) Thanks for the nomination, am off to write mine now!

  2. Key – I shall check you out! Thanks for commenting!

    Amber, it’s really easy to fake if you just learn how to tuck your chins under when a camera is pointed at you… and purse your lips slightly to create cheekbones… :D Thanks though!

  3. Must learn the tucking of the chin trick! You always look marvelous.

    Thanks so much for the nomination! I’ll have to work on my post. I’ve been super swamped at work this week.

    Also…nice to know there is another cry-baby like myself out there in cyberspace. Have you ever seen the movie Cars? Yes, the animated movie…I cry at the end of it. EVERY.TIME!

  4. hi,
    that earwig piece at the end really got to me. Oh dear. There was that Star Trek movie in the eighties with Ricardo Montalban and those horrible earwigs. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

