Sale gem

What I wore for the vintage and handmade fair on Sunday.
Dress: ASOS sale; shoes: Topshop; petticoat: RSC costume sale, altered by me.

I don’t often buy from ASOS, as I can never be certain of fit. Shops such as Dorothy Perkins are straightforward – I know a Dotty P’s size 14 will fit all my contours, so can order online to my heart’s content – but ASOS, like H&M, can vary enormously from garment to garment when it comes to measurements. Still, when I spotted this dress in the sale, I had to risk the £27 price tag – it was too pretty to miss out on!

I’m glad I did, as it fits like a glove. I love the pleated, flared skirt, which looks especially effective worn over the cornflower blue petticoat I bought for so little at the RSC costume sale last year and altered to fit. I love the elbow-length sleeves with their turn-up cuffs, and the slash neck which always suits my wide-set shoulders. And I love the geometric pattern – so unlike anything else I own or would usually consider, but surprisingly effective as an all-over print.

Necklace: gift from Kelsey

Yup, I can definitely see myself attempting to take a pattern from this dress. I can also see myself scouring the shops for cornflower blue flats, as I feel certain this dress will prove a firm favourite over the coming months!

4 thoughts on “Sale gem

Leave a Reply

