Jewel-toned gems

DISCLAIMER: This blog post was written in November 2007. The dresses are no longer available in Warehouse, and I do not stock them personally. If you’d like one of these dresses the best I can advise is to search ebay for one. Sorry!

Back in early autumn I was heard whinging repeatedly about the lack of the jewel toned brights so favoured in the shows in high street shops. Where, I whined, were all the deep fuscias, jade and emerald greens and petrol blues I’d fallen so heavily for? Two months later it appears that Warehouse have answered my call with a whole bevy of beautiful party dresses in rich toned satins, silks and velvets.

I walk past Warehouse everyday on my way to and from work and over the last maybe three weeks have found myself falling in love with dress after dress from their window display. They tick all the boxes for me – aside from the fabulous colours there are dresses in a variety of styles and lengths, from calf length plunging halters to cute bejewelled mini smocks, from oh-so-seventies maxis to thigh grazing kimonos. And for that extra bit of sparkle there are jewels and sequins to suit everyone, from the glitz-shy to the full-on glamour-puss.

With prices starting at £40 there’s also something for almost every budget – I mean, I know we’re talking four times the price of your average Primark number, but if a gal wants to wow the office Christmas party she’s gotta be willing to shell out occasionally, right?

You can find Warehouse dresses here, but these are a few of my faves:

Sash Dress

Sash Dress

I know, I know, we’re all sick of purple – but I love the plumminess of this tone, and I adore my velvet right now – ever since I was a little girl I associated a new (often hand-me-down, usually Marks and Spencer) velvet dress with Christmas parties!

Sweetheart Bandeau Prom Dress

Sweetheart Bandeau Prom Dress

Yup, it’s a predictable choice – sweetheart bandeau, flattering skirt, nipped in waist – the curvy girl’s best friend. What can I say? I’m just a girl who can’t say no – especially to green (though it’s worth noting this dress is also available in the most gorgeous deep fuscia pink).

Egyptian Embellished Maxi Dress

Egyptian Embellished Maxi Dress

There’s something terribly Saturday Night Fever about this. Just finish it off with a good afro and you’re good to go!

Bow Tiered Dress

Bow Tiered Front Dress

Ok, so this would do nothing for the busty girls out there, and drop waists are a big no-no for the curvy. But it has a bow – tell me that’s not cute!

6 thoughts on “Jewel-toned gems

  1. Hello,
    I have my year 11 prom on the 25th of june and i have saw the Sweetheart Bandeau Prom Dress and i love it?
    How can i buy it do you purchase it?
    Write Back, thanks.

  2. hello
    was just looking at ure site and i love the sweetheart green bandeau dress and would love to purchase it for my prom how do i get it as i followed the lik=nk and could not find the dress
    thankyou

  3. Hi Sarah,

    I’m afraid this is a rather old blog entry – as you can see, it’s from November – so it is looking at what was available on the Warehouse website at the time. However, in response to Adele’s query (above) I did manage to find a seller on eBay selling the dress in pink – a bit more searching and you may find the green too!

    http://search.stores.ebay.co.uk/Discount-365-Store_warehouse-prom-dress_W0QQftsZ1QQsaselZ701754959QQsatitleZwarehouseQ20promQ20dressQQsofpZ0

    Hope this helps!
    Caroline

  4. Hi guys,

    This is a very old blog post about dresses that were availble in Warehouse stores at the time – the best I can suggest is to browse ebay for one. Sorry I can’t be more help!

    Thanks,
    Caroline

Leave a Reply

