My red carpet outfit

I picked this dress up for £4.99 on a charity shop trip with Sarah W (sarahsrays) around Newcastle’s Chillingham Road over 18 months ago. I have never had an opportunity to wear it as it’s so over-the-top. Yet I just can’t bring myself to get rid of it, it’s such a perfect fit! I dug it out today on a jaunt through my drawers to find more unworn items for ebay. It will be going straight back into my drawer, however, as if I do ever have a red carpet moment (or an 80s fancy dress cockatil party to attend!) I will absolutely be wearing it!

dsc02384

blue-shoes

Dress: charity shop; shoes: Topshop

dsc02386

5 thoughts on “My red carpet outfit

  1. Wow! That is a dress and a half! Love it! And the shoes.

    You brought back memories mentioning Chillingham Road – my friend used to live in Walker and Chillingham Road was her local Metro station.

  2. The shoes are lush aren’t they girls?! I remember seeing these in Topshop and deciding I HAD to have them, but back then I could barely afford to eat let alone shop. I went home and put everything I could find and justify on Ebay – Euan’s guitar only narrowly escaped – to make enough money for them. I then got £4 worth of fabric at Birmingham’s rag market and made a dress to match for a friend’s wedding, just so that I could wear them! Even the waitresses commented on them… I’ll see if I can dig out a picture!

    Fi – Chillingham Road metro always scared me a teeny bit – the approach in the dark is a bit unnerving. But it always made me laugh the way people would rub out letters to make new names for it. My favourite was Chilli jam Road – rubbed out the ‘n’, half the ‘g’ and the ‘h’!

  3. Hi,

    I was just wondering when you got your shoes (they’re amazing!), and if you happen to know a style name or number. I’m getting married in June and I’m looking for a pair just like that! I’d like to see if I can find a pair for sale online.

    Thanks so much!
    danaé

  4. Hi Danae,

    Thanks, but I’m afraid these shoes are 5 years old now! They were Topshop, but I don’t know what name. You could check ebay? I’m so sorry I can’t be more helpful.

    Good luck finding your shoes, and have a wonderful wedding!

    Caroline x

Leave a Reply

