An Education

I love Carey Mulligan. Ever since I saw her play the much beloved Sally Sparrow I’ve had a bit of a girl crush going on. As many of you are well aware, Blink is quite possibly my favourite Doctor Who episode ever.

So, when I spotted her in the film stills from An Education, modelling an astounding wardrobe that would probably give Betty Draper a run for her money I got quite excited. When I saw that the film not only involved Carey Mulligan and wonderfully styled outfits, but also Emma Thompson (LOVE) and Dominic Cooper I realised wild horses wouldn’t succeed in stopping meΒ  seeing this movie…

Blue dress

Fur hats

Greens Dom Cooper

Stairs

C&D

And then I saw this shot:

Rose pyrex

The film features my rose-patterned pyrex. It was clearly meant to be!

Winner of the Audience Choice award at the 2009 Sundance film festival, An Education is released at the end of October. I’ll definitely be taking myself to see it, for the clothes, for Carey, for Emma… and for Dominic, I guess! πŸ˜‰

13 thoughts on “An Education

  1. How could you possibly like Blink, it’s terrifying! Just the thought of it makes me panic slightly. The library one is pretty scary too. And the one on the spaceship with the creepy lady who repeats everything. Brrrr.

    • That’s why I like it – it’s terrifying! (And did you notice one of the statues shown at the very end with the voice over looks like the one at Haymarket? It’s not – I was nerd-enough to check…)

      I agree – Silence in the Library and Midnight are both very scary too – I think, with all three of these, because the monsters are unseen. Stone angels and statues are everywhere, I am still a little bit afraid of the dark, and the monster in Midnight is never actually visible. All far scarier than the Raxacoricofallapatorians (who were actually kinda cute looking with those big eyes!)!

  2. Thanks for that Caroline – I LOVE yes thats LOVE dominic cooper so will be seeing that film for him alone πŸ™‚ History Boys is one of my fave ever films……
    Not familiar with Carey Mulligan, but she is truly beautiful…..will have to google her!!

  3. A rose pyrex dish like that is one of the few items my parents have left from their wedding presents. It been used regularly through 41 years and 12 house moves including back and forth to the US. My mom is going to have a fit when someone (or the dog) drops and breaks it.

    • I inherited two mixing bowls from my Gran, then started buying oddments when I saw them. I have a serving dish and a porridge bowl with the same pattern – I love them because they remind me of my Grandmother!

      Unfortunately my ex dropped the larger mixing bowl and it shattered (as pyrex does 😦 ) – “a fit” doesn’t begin to describe my reaction! πŸ˜€

    • I think they’re really popular – I pick them up cheap in charity shops and at car boot sales (I have pyrex radar now!) and they seem to be quite widely available on ebay.

Leave a Reply

