Stuffed Squash

As I said earlier, on Saturday I bought a delicious-looking squash to roast for my tea on Sunday. The grocer recommended roasting it with butter and lots of pepper, but I figured by stuffing it I could make a balanced meal that would last two nights. So here’s what I did!

Firstly I halved the squash, deseeded it and brushed with olive oil. I placed this in a deep baking tray with about half an inch of water in the bottom, and roasted on about 200C for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, I made up half a pint of bouillion stock and used this to simmer some quinoa until it was tender and al dente. To the quinoa I had added some fresh grated nutmeg, lots of pepper and a handful of sultanas. I then toasted a tablespoon of chopped mixed nuts and grated some mature cheddar, and mixed these through the hot, cooked quinoa. I used this to stuff the roasted squash halves, grated a little more cheese on top and grilled for 5 mins until melty and delicious!

Half on Sunday, half on Monday, and a very satisfied Caroline! šŸ˜€

7 thoughts on “Stuffed Squash

  1. Looks yummy! I had to go googling “sultanas” and “mature cheddar” though as I had no idea what they were. Raisins & sharp cheddar were my answers. Ha!

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

