90s revival

I was a teenager in the 90s. As such there were a great many of the fashions in which I indulged. I wore embroidered waistcoats with long skirts and loooong pendants as last seen on Ace of Base. I had a rolled fringe and wore my hair sides-up, pushed forward and clippped in place with my tucked-in lumberjack shirt and straight-leg high-waist jeans. I let my slash-necked cropped jumper hang artfully off one shoulder as we checked out the ice-age’s effect on the valleys of Cannock Chase on a geography field trip. And I remember the Christmas I unwrapped that brilliant green Reebok sweatshirt that I just knew would make me slot right in with the cool kids come January 5th (or whatever date school started that particular year!).

But there were some styles I missed out on, fashions I was just that bit too young to cash in. One of these was the floral dress, denim jacket, doc martens combination. And lately I’ve been noticing a bit of a revival…

It started when I sat down to watch the first episode of Being Erica. For her first assignment she went back to 1992, where she was sporting this look:

Image from the Being Erica website

Image shamelessly stolen from the opening credits
– hence the appalling quality!

I loved it, marked it for later inspiration and started checking out denim jackets on ebay. Then, while watching Being Human last Sunday we met Daisy, who rocks a very similar look:

Images shamelessly stolen from Being Human on the iplayer

So, the main components of this look are very simple: denim jacket, floral dress, boots. Ideally, the dress needs to be button-through, but I’ve had no luck finding one of these, either in the shops or when thrifting. What I have found is the following:

1.) Dress:

Ink ditsy tiered skater dress, £30 from Dorothy Perkins

This dress combines the body-conscious fitted top half with the slightly fuller skirt. And the print provides a modern take on the classic floral look.

2.) Jacket

Levis denim jacket, £80 from ASOS

Denim jackets are actually readily available right now, and ASOS has a great range. To be true to the look you’ll need stone- or acid-washed, but a darker wash is far more flattering, as is a closer fit. This almost shirt-like style is a better shape for pretty much everyone, as well as being a far more versatile addition to any wardrobe.

3.) Boots

Brown Riding Boots, £90 £75 from Dorothy Perkins

Again, to be true to the look you’ll need to go down a slightly different route and get yourself a pair of Doc Marten’s (or maybe some Cats or Timberlands). It will doubtless prove well worth it, as Docs last a lifetime and are ridiculously comfortable to wear, not to mention practical in the winter months… But I prefer these lovely riding boots, because they are far more flexible, will ride out the winter storms and take you from snow plough to office on white days.

So that’s it – how to recreate this early 90s classic style! It’s definitely a look I’m going to be considering come Spring – now I just need to learn how to volumise my hair to epic proportions… Cheryl Cole can probably help me out with that one!

11 thoughts on “90s revival

  1. Oh yay – I remember the self same stuff, especially the slash neck jumper hanging off one shoulder and the lumberjack shirts, although I have to say that the floral dress & denim jacket combo is a perennial favourite with me.

  2. Oh I love this, though it makes me feel incredibly old! I somehow managed the floral dress and boots thing (DM’s all the way) the first time round, despite being a bit too young to do so – I blame my inner Rayanne Graff!

    A x

    • Definitely Rayanne’s fault – the cast of MSCL had this look nailed! I have ordered the series on amazon (currently £6.86 – bargain!!) and have a feeling I’m going to be digging out lumberjack shirts in the very near future…

      xx

  3. Oooh, meant to say too – did you notice that Daisy was Aiden Turner’s muse in Desperate Romantics?! She gets around a bit between him and Russell Tovey! Also, I’m not sure about Ivan – I mean, how threatening can a Welsh vampire sound (and I say that as a Welsh gal myself!)

    A x

    • I didn’t notice until you just said! Aidan Turner and Russell Tovey – am turning green with envy…

      I think Ivan’s kinda creepy, but I think the old guy is the real threat, and I find him massively scary already. Oh and that stuff in the hospital room with Saul tonight – yeouch!! That had me nibbling my nails, I can tell thee!

      xx

  4. I love that look 🙂

    And FWIW, the jean jacket has been a staple in my wardrobe (in some form or another) since the 90’s (90’s: acidwash with pink lace edging. De rigeur for the stylish 8-year-old. Early 2000’s: Dark wash, super fitted, Levi’s. Current (on my body right now, actually): stonewash, GAP, fitted but not skintight). Seems like they’re never really *in* style, nor are they really ever *out* of style. And they just can’t be beat for comfort! 🙂

    (Just plz never the Texas Tuxedo look. Ugh.)

    • I wasn’t previously aware of the “Texas Tuxedo” look, but think I can imagine…

      I’ve never really managed to make the denim jacket work, but have hopes of overcoming my aversion this time around. Well done you for building up such a collection! 😀

  5. I was a junior in high school in 1992 and I’m pretty sure the wardrobe department from Being Erica stole my first day of school outfit…down to the black choker necklace! Thanks for the walk down memory lane. Also, the tweets about My So Called Life helped the walk as well.

  6. Pingback: Pretty Poetess « Second Hand Shopper

Leave a Reply

