In praise of slips

I love this dress. I mean, what’s not to love – it has a fitted top and waist, a fabulous graphic print, a full skirt and features green quite heavily… it is also vintage 70s, which means it’s that horrible bobbly, prickly polyester that turns everything to static. I can’t wear it without a slip.

But this isn’t a problem for me, as I am something of a slip hoarder. I have somewhere in the region of 20 on rotation, some vintage, some new, some inherited from my Gran… some black, white and neutral, others bright blue, mint green or shocking orange, and my favourite, as my regular readers are aware, featuring a fabulous, hand-embroidered, grammatically incorrect slogan on the hem. They hang on the back of my bedroom door and each morning I pick one to complement the dress I’m wearing – depending on whether it needs something narrow or something full skirted, short, knee- or calf-length, something with a fitted bust or a cami-style top that will insure my modesty.

I believe the slip is an important undergarment that is all too often overlooked. As this Times Online feature explains, underpinnings can make or break an outfit, and while an ill-fitting bra can ruin your shape almost as much as not wearing one at all, an ill-fitting or non-existent slip can also spoil a silhouette. A fuller slip worn under a figure-hugging pencil skirt, for example, can add unnecessary creases and ridges, while a lace-trimmed come-to-bed negligee worn under a form-fitting sweater will leave unsightly lumps and bumps.

So, tomorrow I’ll be writing you a definitive guide to choosing slips to complement your style. And a few of my top sources for buying these little beauties, whatever your budget!

3 thoughts on “In praise of slips

  1. Ooooh good! I’ve never worn a slip before, but it’s something I’ve been thinking about for a while as a serial dress wearer, so your guide will be really helpful 🙂

  2. Looking forward to reading your guide. I have a couple of slipsthat I’ve bene wearing on an ever more regular basis and I’ve been thinking of expanding my collection. Guidance woud be very helpful.

Leave a Reply

