London calling

Today was our sew make believe day trip down to London to check out some of the fabric, crafting and inspiration stores there. Kate had created a very thorough itinerary to ensure we could fit everything in that we wanted to do. I’m feeling lazy, so rather than tell you all about it, I’m just going to show you!

Stop 1: Cath Kidston

SUCH a lovely experience. Super-friendly staff, who told us to enjoy our trip and wished us a pleasant weekend. I found something I’ve been after for a while, a sturdy travel pass holder with three windows for under a fiver!

Stop 2: V V Rouleaux

An unscheduled stop we passed and decided to take advantage of. No purchases for anyone, though several of us were sorely tempted by the beautiful ribbons and trimmings on offer.

Stop 3: The Button Queen

Some frankly amazing antique buttons on display, as well as some really lovely modern designs. Buttons come at prices to suit all wallets, and everyone bought something. I got six that reminded me of a Monet watercolour to replace those on a cardigan I’ve been meaning to overhaul…

Stop 4: The Make Lounge

This tiny shop is buzzer entry only, but stocks an amazing array of lovely fabrics, iron-on transfers, embroidery silks, felt, findings… and offers a perfect selection of crafting books too. The also run workshops for hen parties.

Kate, I don’t think she’ll mind me saying, went a little bit crazy buying fabrics for various gift projects, and I bought 1/2 metre of fabric for a couple of cushion covers and iron-on transfers and an embroidery ring for another VERY EXCITING project I was inspired into by a brief browse of Cologne and Cotton.

Stop 5: Loop

A yarn shop with some fantastic wools, every type of needle or hook you could ever need and a collection of divine books and magazines. Kate and I went halvsies on the divine but costly Selvedge magazine, whose focus for the January/February issue was the women of wartime Britain, clothes rationing, make do and mend…

Stop 6: Liberty

Ah! Liberty. Heavenly store – I can’t believe I’ve never been before. The fact that everything is so far out of my price range it makes me cry is totally irrelevant because it’s just such a beautiful place to be. The stock is beautifully laid out and the displays are so well thought through – it’s like one enormous work of art. Even the entry, walking through their front porch which happens to be the florist, prepares you for the whole experience. I could gush for HOURS, but instead will leave you with a few more Liberty photographs.

13 thoughts on “London calling

  1. I love your hat… it reminds me of one I have which is very 1930s cloche. Sounds like a fabulous time in London too… I’ve been to Liberty but I never realised they had haberdashery too!

    • Yeah, it does have that 30s feel!

      The top floor in Liberty has the soft furnishings fabric department you can see here, but the third floor has an enormous haberdashers, with loads of make kits and sewing notions, buttons, beads, Liberty print cottons and silks, plus other modern fabric designers’ wares, wools, etc etc. It’s fabulous, but too expensive for me. For example, there were jam jars of little liberty print covered buttons I would have loved at Β£26.95!! I can’t QUITE justify that! πŸ˜€

    • That’s funny – I was just over at WWEPW, came back over here and found your comment!

      It would be my pleasure! But I’m def not an insider – don’t know London particularly well at all… it’s one of those “I know the bits I know” kinda places! Still, we bobbed into a couple of shops “off itinerary” that I think you’d love today – Oliver Bonas had some particularly EP-friendly wares, brooches, clutches, bracelets and the like! πŸ˜€

  2. Lovely write-up! It looks as though I missed a treat at Loop – will have to make another trip! I’m glad that Liberty’s lived up to expectations πŸ™‚

    I made a trial of the little felt flower brooches we saw in Make Lounge on the way home – will send you a photo!

  3. Now you know why I love Liberty’s; they have the most fantastic fabrics from around the world and every sewing notion you could want.
    I bought some beautiful Batik material there when I was on an art trip for college back in the 70s. In fact, you have the halter neck dress I made with it in your trunk!
    Next time you go take a trip to the V&A to see the costume/ fashion exhibits. It’s amazing xxx

  4. Pingback: Caroline: embroidery project « sew make believe

Leave a Reply

