Vintage and Handmade

Today some of the sew make believe ladies went down to Chipping Sodbury in the Cotswolds for a trip to the Vintage and Handmade Fair. It’s a unique fair in that the goods are of a consistently high quality, whether vintage, retro, handcrafted or antique. It is the best place to go for true vintage fabrics and buttons, patterns and notions, retro inspired interiors and kitschy antiques.

I bought a few bits – some buttons for a couple of projects I have on the go, and a book I am absolutely delighted with! A Macmillan hardback edition of Rudyard Kipling’s Rewards and Fairies, complete with dust jacket and someone’s own addition to the inside cover!

I know most people who collect books look for pristine editions, but there’s nothing I love more than an inscription, a bookmark of a postcard or folded note, a few pressed flowers… anything that tells me a little bit about its history – anything, I suppose, that leaves a little of its former owner behind. This sort of thing detracts from its monetary value but adds to its personal value from my perspective!

These are the rest of my purchases, alongside cards from some of the exhibitors. Overall it was a lovely day out, and a trip I’d recommend to crafters and vintage lovers alike.

6 thoughts on “Vintage and Handmade

  1. Think I can see the buttons you thought might suit my trousers! They look great. Glad you had such a lovely time x

  2. Can I have your dress please?!! I have been looking for more floral numbers like my Joe Bowns dress that I can wear in a similar ensemble and have so far failed! Yours would be perfect! Heehee!

    Nxxx

  3. Pingback: Vintage and Handmade « Zoë's Crafts and Stuff

Leave a Reply

