Silhouettes

This look is so different from my usual silhouette, I wasn’t sure I could pull it off, but I felt strangely comfortable (and a little bit sexy!) all day. There’s something about the kind of top that slides off one shoulder that feels a bit risque – and tells you just how firmly I’m rooted as a child of the 80s!

The reason for this change in look is far from clear, even to me. I woke up without a clue what to wear – which is not actually as unusual as you would think. Particularly at the moment, I’m finding my twixt-season wardrobe distinctly uninspiring, longing as I am to be wearing my summer frocks, bare legged and sandal-clad… But even the days I wake up undecided, I am usually settled in my mind by the time I emerge from the shower – this dress, that cardi, those shoes and whichever tights are clean.

Today I wanted to wear exactly NONE of my dresses. And I wanted those bare legs regardless of the weather. Only a maxi-skirt would answer my needs, and the rest was born of that ideal.

The only thing I’m not so keen on is the lack of defined waist. I’d really like a work-appropriate maxi with a high waist and wide band – I think it could look distinctly smart with the right top, cardi and sandals. In fact, I might even make one for the summer – I’m sure I’ve a perfect vintage 70s pattern in my sewing box… But in the mean time, this slightly scruffier than usual, boho look will have to suffice.

Anyway, it won’t last – I’m already contemplating what to change into for the pub tonight…

3 thoughts on “Silhouettes

  1. Ooh, nice way to ring the changes! I know what you mean about transitional dressing – it’s too cold to wear the things I want to wear, so I’ve had quite a few ‘meh, will have to do this, then’ days.

    I used to have a couple of denim maxi skirts in which I felt oddly sexy. Something about the combination of casual denim with a ladylike shape and swishiness, I think.

  2. I LOVE this outfit – long skirts and off-the-shoulder tops are definitely my thing, and I think the belt does a really nice job of breaking the lines. The three-quarter sleeves are a really nice touch too 🙂

Leave a Reply

