The jam plan

Only I wasn’t using it to get over a man, but to get over a rather nasty cold…

I made this chilli jam for Christmas presents last year and only kept a very small jar for myself – which disappeared far too quickly. I’ve been promising myself some more since but was waiting for tomatoes to hit season as a batch needs a kilo of sweet, ripe toms.

This is my take on a recipe from delicious magazine as found on the Channel 4 website. It’s sweeter and more aromatic than the original thanks to the orange juice and the lack of lemongrass.

Ingredients:

1kg ripe tomatoes
8 red chillis, 4 deseeded
6 garlic cloves
2 thumbs ginger, grated (mine is from a jar preserved in brandy – a Christmas present from my Mum. It adds a subtle edge to the flavour.)
Rind & juice of 1 orange
200ml red wine vinegar
600g golden caster sugar (I use sugar infused with cinnamon sticks and star anise)
6 star anise

Method:

  1. Roughly chop half of the tomatoes and blend with the chillis, garlic, ginger, orange and 60ml of the vinegar.
  2. Bring to the boil in a deep pan with all the remaining ingredients. Reduce heat to a simmer for approx 1 hour.
  3. Once reduced and thickened, pick out the star anise, pour into warm, sterilised jars and seal while hot. You can pick up wax circles for sealing in good homewares stores – I got mine from Lakeland.

Always date your jars – this particular jam can remain sealed for up to a year. Once opened keep refrigerated and eat within 6 months.

This is an ideal marinade for pork or chicken throughout barbeque season, mixes into mayonnaise to create a gorgeous addition to sandwiches, is particularly tasty with ham or sausages, and is great with pork pies or cheddar… and I’m told it goes delightfully with grilled halloumi!

Oh, and if you’re local and would like a jar, I have several from the latest batch to give away… just let me know!

11 thoughts on “The jam plan

  1. Glad I’m coming over next week! I didn’t keep mine in the fridge and it’s been ok – it really spices up an ordinary sandwich 🙂

  2. It’s offers like that that make me wish I lived in Leamington. I love chilli, but am afraid of making jam because I know it’s, well, temperamental… perhaps I should experiment.

  3. Carys, Roisin, I’ll put a couple of jars aside for you!

    Mummy – do you need another jar already?!

    Louise – you should give it a go – this one is ridiculously easy and nowhere near as complicated as most jams (no need for muslin or funnels or proper jam pans…) and utterly delicious!

    Mrs. M – it is yum! 🙂

    mandi_b – well, it’s not that far – what is it, a 10 hour round trip?? Worth it for jam… 😀

  4. Please please please! If you have any left?! It was soooooooooo yummy! That’s if I am forgiven for making you poorly. At the very least I am stealing the recipe! Nxxx

Leave a Reply

