Book review: White Cat

White Cat (Curse Workers, Book 1)by Holly Black

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sometimes you pick up a book and just know, before you reach the end of the first chapter, that you’re reading something truly special. So it was with White Cat, a novel which kept me awake on my commute, occupied in lunch hours and up long after my bedtime last night…

The feeling that accompanied this book is one I last encountered reading American Gods – indeed, elements of Black’s style are very Gaiman-esque in formation, and the storyline draws you into the same pattern of half-fantasy, half-familiar world which Gaiman’s stories so often inhabit. The beauty of this realm is that it creates a sense of eerie unease from the start, which proves the perfect setting for the intricately woven plot Black has cultivated.

If Neil Gaiman were to write an episode of The Sopranos with creative input from Stephen King, they might come close to this novel.

I won’t share any more and I certainly won’t reveal any spoilers, as I know at least four people for whom I’ll be buying this as a gift as soon as the trade paperback has run its course! But if you’re a fan of dark, surreal, young adult fantasy fiction, I highly recommend picking up a copy for yourself.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

