Maxi love

I’m really picky about maxi dresses. For one thing, they have to be maxi. I can’t carry off the new look ankle-skimmers – they’re not flattering to my body shape. For another thing, the fit has to be perfect – too tight across the front and you’re in danger of showing off every lump and bump, too full skirted from under the bust and even the skinniest of minnies looks pregnant at best, sack-like at worst. Finding a maxi that flatters my shape is a tricky business.

I was delighted, on receiving my recent Miss Selfridge sale purchase maxi, to find that it fits like a dream. It has two lovely little pintucks that fall from beneath the bust, is lined, and thanks to the tiered hem, is weighted enough to hang heavily and hold its shape. Buying maxi dresses online is a risky business, but on this occasion proved a risk worth taking…

Black butterfly maxi dress, £55

So, now I am coveting another Miss Selfridge dress. This one appears to be cut from the same pattern as the cream one, but is in suitably autumnal colours. I can see it worn over a long sleeved body top through autumn, and with an additional layer of long, chunky cardigan and my snow maiden boots when the weather turns really cold. At £55 it’s a little beyond me right now, but I am seriously consdiering converting some of my survey points to vouchers for the purchase. It seems like a strong potential investment!

One thought on “Maxi love

Leave a Reply

