Fall back

There’s always a lot of debate about whether British Summer Time is really worth the effort. Personally, I look forward to that evening in Spring when, for the first time in what feels like an eternity, I leave the office in the daylight. And this morning is was halfway light when I left my flat – something of a treat when, already, I’ve resigned myself to the darkness…

No matter, there’s no denying the joy to be gained from that extra hour in bed on a Sunday morning. This morning, my body convinced I had overslept, I awoke moments before the alarm of my own accord, which makes all the difference to my mood – particularly as I was therefore early enough to take a cup of tea back to bed with me for a quarter hour! A slow-awakening is so much more pleasant than a rude one.

The weather is funny just now – too cool for a jacket but too warm for a coat and VERY changeable. Dapper and I completed a 5 hour walk on Saturday afternoon, which saw me remove most layers just 30 mins in to be left wearing an oversized fleece and still slightly too toasty! I think layers are the only way forward just now – hence the double layered dress and cardi today: protection against office- and train carriage-air con, but not at the expense of strippable clothing should the autumn sun make an appearance through the windows. Which it did!

The spoils of my long weekend include an oversized vanity suitcase, 6lbs of sloes from the estate perimeter and a collection of pottery shards of various ages, the later of which I plan on using to create a mosaic in the style of Kirstie Allsopp’s tabletop (Ooh – don’t forget, Homemade fans, new series starts Tuesday, 8pm!). Also, very achey muscles – between the walking on Saturday, the Scottish Country Dancing on Thursday (much fun, though I’ve yet to work out where I’m supposed to be during a diagonal reel…) and various other exertions (2 year old border collies never seem to tire!) I’m exhausted – in that satisfyingly sore way only exercise provokes…

And now it’s back to the grind! Ah well – not long until Christmas…

2 thoughts on “Fall back

  1. 5 hour walk! I’m deeply impressed. I know just what you mean about the weather – my body hasn’t got a clue what’s going on at the moment, it’s driving me mad! Coat/no coat, scarf/no scarf….

    I confess I am very grateful for my pajamas in our cold house though 🙂

Leave a Reply

