Declutter

I’m having a bit of a clear out. I have been listing paperbacks I don’t wish to reread on Greenmetropolis as I finish them for a while, but frankly, they’re not shifting as quickly as I’d like… so if anyone has any suggested alternatives that will earn me pennies, do leave a comment. Otherwise, I’ve been ruthless with my wardrobe: if it doesn’t get worn because it doesn’t look right anymore, it’s going…

So, on ebay this week are various barely worn items, including:

This is the dress I wore for my engagement party back in 2007. It hasn’t had an airing in quite some time, but I was loathe to part with it before now…

This skirt was bought at a Reiss new season collection preview, with the excuse of making up part of my “going away” outfit. It has had a handful of outings that I can recall, but isn’t a neat enough fit to be enjoyed more often. I love the shape and the fluidity, so held on to it for longer than was really necessary!

Now, this dress, looked great on me a mere two years ago. And now? Well, I don’t really know why, but I’ve gone off it! The last time I popped it on I was hugely disappointed with the fit, the length, the pattern – I don’t know why, it just doesn’t really work for me any more.

And this spotty skirt from H&M – so fun, so funky, so not me anymore. I don’t know why, I just don’t feel good in it!

It’s funny, don’t you think, how clothes that we love intensely for a few months, even a couple of years, can suddenly lose their appeal when our outlook changes. I think mine is linked to turning 30 – suddenly I feel like dressing more like a grown-up, wearing fewer mini skirts (though not NONE – I just mostly go for minis with leggings now…) and above the knee dresses. I’ve stopped flashing my legs in favour of highlighting my waist more often. I suppose I’m in a more mature place, all of a sudden.

6 thoughts on “Declutter

  1. “It’s funny, don’t you think, how clothes that we love intensely for a few months, even a couple of years, can suddenly lose their appeal when our outlook changes.”

    I was just pondering this. This year I am all florals and lace. And I was thinking about past clothing and how there is just no way I’d wear what I wore when I was 25, 28, 30 anymore. So strange. I have such a connection to style, but I’m fickle over time it seems.

    • I’m incredibly and unashamedly fashion fickle – I was dead against leggings and would never be caught in skinny jeans a couple of years back, yet now I own both! In fact, back in 2007 I even wrote a blog post for The Fashion Police about how fashion fickle I am! Though I am pleased to say that you’d still be highly unlikely to catch me in suede-tassled stonewash-denim mini dresses…

Leave a Reply

