Christmas Crafting

Well, I wanted to schedule this post to go live between Christmas and new year, but then there was the whole stranding thing, and everything got squidged into a ridiculously short time and, well, scheduled posts got lost at the bottom of the to-do-list-bucket. Still, better late than never, right? Here are a few of the bits I made up for Christmas gifts this year:

Firstly, little elvish slippers for wee feetses, based on a design I spotted somewhere on the internet ether and am now unable to trace:

This first pair were made for my neice, Emily, and stuffed withΒ  goodies including dolly mixtures, candy canes, a handmade felt stocking tree decoration and handmade flower barettes. In fact, sets of barettes (from this Purl Bee tutorial) were also made up for my neice Maria and another little girl I know, alongside another, slightly girlier pair of slippers:

(Lined with a Disney Princess mini-fleece purchased from Poundland)

Then came this Partridge in a Pear Tree mobile, which I ended up keeping myself, but used as an inspiration piece for a gift that’s still to be given and so is still under wraps! The pears proved a great way to use up fabric scraps and odd buttons, and I used glass beads as weights to make sure everything balanced:

Of course, I couldn’t waste my newly-discovered crochet skills! After Kate blogged Blair Peter’s granny square scarf on the sew make believe blog, I got happy with my hooking and made up two as gifts:

Finally, Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without a bit of baking!
My fudge went seriously awry, but the gingerbread cookies worked out just fine!

I hadn’t time to ice them myself, so instead attached a couple of icing tubes to each tin or jar, so that the kids could decorate their own!

8 thoughts on “Christmas Crafting

  1. Wow. You’re crotchet skills are epic! I tried that once a few years ago and found it impossible. Very impressed!

    • Aww, thanks, but they’re really not that impressive! πŸ˜€ I was essentially taught to crochet by friends (we run skill-sharing workshops at our crafting club) and I can only really do berets and granny squares so far… I have made a promise to myself that I’ll learn some more stitches this year though, so I can make more than just scarves, berets and blankets!!

      I’m also determined to learn to knit, which I’ve been taught loads of times, but just gives me a mental block. I have been told you’re either a knitter or a crocheter – perhaps knitting is more your style?! πŸ™‚

      • I love this! A knitter or a crocheter πŸ™‚ I can do both, but I definitely am more of a crocheter. I enjoy knitting but man, you need to be PATIENT which I am not so much!

      • I did start a bit of knitting again over Christmas, my Grandma used to knit all the time as was very good at it. But I did about 20 lines and decided I had better things to do. it just takes so long! I think one day I’ll start it again properly though. Maybe one day I’ll have another go at crocheting as well.

  2. Good lord woman, no wonder you were surviving on so little sleep in the run up to Crimble – how the hell do you do it all?! Well done though, I’m very impressed πŸ™‚

  3. My you were busy!! You were one of my ‘lucky’ ones this year – illness etc sent the christmas gift making seriously awry. Good job I got to knitting your ensemble months ago!

    Nxxx

  4. Pingback: Partridge in a Pear Tree « sew make believe

Leave a Reply

