Toffee fudge

Before Christmas, in a somewhat rushed state, I made my first attempt at fudge. Without a sugar thermometer I had some problems identifying soft ball stage. The result… well, let’s just say it caused much hilarity for Ben and Mummy on Christmas Eve!

But despite its rather soggy state, it did taste quite yummy. So, I scrabbled around online for advice, and eventually decided that the answer was in the addition of more melted chocolate and more Baileys, and storage in jars!

I think it’ll be very nice warmed over a gentle heat and poured over ice-cream. I’m going to try using it to make toffee-apple tart and banoffee pie, and, well, in all likelihood end up eating it straight from the jar on a spoon when I get a sweet craving. It’s not as smooth as it could be, but I’m sure some of you won’t mind the sugar crystals…

So, if you’d like a jar, just yell – as with the chilli jam, it’s a first-come, first-served setup.

2 thoughts on “Toffee fudge

  1. This is me with my hand up for a spare jar. The chilli jam is so tasty that Nic raves about it every time we have it so I know you’re good for it, baby 🙂

  2. I tried making Christmas cranberry fudge but also couldn’t get it to set. After two attempts I gave up and bought some instead 😦

Leave a Reply

