Choices choices…

Having finished my latest Daisy Dalrymple adventure on Monday, I found myself standing in front of my ever-growing “to-read” pile last night, trying to choose a new bedfellow. I always have several books on the go at once – a pocket-sized classic or two to fit into handbags, a historical biography or somesuch, and a novel within whose loving arms pages I can fall asleep. I was all ready to give in to the call of the third Gail Carriger (which I’ve been saving for treats when the January blues really take hold) when my resolve hardened in favour of actually reading one of the many books I have been loaned over the last year or two – y’know, so I could finally return one or two to their rightful homes! Inspired by yesterday’s theme, I picked up Random Acts of Heroic Love by Danny Scheinmann.

My God. I sobbed for the first, I don’t know, 20 minutes of reading this book. I mean really broke down and sobbed, gut-wrenching, choking – as my Scots friend Vikki would say, “greetin’ ma eyes out“! I did stop for a chapter or so as I was plummetted back to the battlefields of the First World War, my heart-breaking empathy temporarily replaced with stomach-turning horror, but then there I was again, this time quietly sobbing into my pillow as I read on and on, my early night slipping further out of reach with every tear streaking down my cheek. ..

Ok, so you get the idea. It’s an emotional book. And yes, I confess, I do get very emotionally involved in stories – more so, perhaps than others might. I laugh aloud and I sob – sometimes almost at once, in public places like buses and station platforms. Once, while reading The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe for the hundreth time on a train, I was actually consoled by the concerned fellow opposite, having burst into tears on reading the immortal line: “They say Aslan is on the move.” I can remember that line making me cry as a child, and it has stirred me to tears every time since – and I couldn’t then or now tell you why, beyond that it seems to be delivered with such emotion…

Anyway, there’s no punchline to this post. I just wanted to share with you what I’m reading, how it is already affecting me, and to ask whether anyone out there in blogland has read it too? Am I in for 448 pages of snivelling – should I avoid taking it on the bus?? Either way, I’ll be heading straight to my bed after our club meeting tonight to read on…

4 thoughts on “Choices choices…

  1. Oh my – someone else who has a few books on the go at the same time – although I must admit I would not have the resolve to continue for 20 minutes with a book that makes me sob. I guess this time of year I’m after anything that will make me do anything but sob!

    • I know what you mean, but there’s something quite releasing about breaking down and sobbing fiction. Kinda gets everything out of your system without making people you care about take the brunt of it.

      Or perhaps I just have too many pent up frustrations…

  2. I haven’t read that book, but it sounds like a great read. I’ve taken a David Sedaris audio book on the bus before, and I was laughing so hard that I was in tears. I’m not sure what the other bus travelers thought, but oh well!
    In other news, I really like your dress!

Leave a Reply

