Meant to be

I’ve had one of those ‘fated’ weeks. Last Wednesday I clicked on an “End of Sale” email I’d usually ignore and found the boots I’ve been coveting since autumn, reduced to £40 from £120, and only left in my size. I checked with vouchercodes and found a free next day delivery code, which meant they arrived whilst I was working from home on Thursday. And unlike a lot of boots that I buy, they fit perfectly. Definitely “meant to be”…

On Saturday we had a little day trip up to Lincoln to see the cathedral (post to follow), after which we mooched around the shops. Down the hill we found Harlequin, formerly a pub, now a secondhand bookshop of the most exciting kind – with books piled high in every nook and cranny and with little order to them, run by a friendly and slightly eccentrically dressed woman in fingerless gloves…

Where Dapper found me this present:

As well as being a beautiful edition, it has a book plate in, which may devalue to book for some but adds personality and history as far as I am concerned!

And then we hit the high street, which is where we lose interest to a degree… but not before checking out a charity shop or two, the first of which unveiled a simple black jersey dress from M&S that I wanted last year but couldn’t justify (top image). It’s the sort of dress I can wear with or without a belt, with thick tights and boots like today in winter, natural tights and heels in spring, and bare legs and gladiators or thongs come summer. And whilst I wouldn’t shell out the £39.50 for it new, a new-with-tags secondhand version for £4.99 I can certainly stretch to!

So, a successful week all round! Lincoln was spectacular, but I’ll write you a photo-heavy post dedicated to that trip for tomorrow. Also, we had an eventful journey to work this morning, which I’ll store up for an uneventful day later in the week: suffice to say the trip to work lasted 6 hours and we never quite reached destination…

10 thoughts on “Meant to be

  1. Love those kind of days – if only they came around more often! I follow your blog regularly – if was out and about and had seen you in Lincoln, I would have said hello. I moved to this beautiful place nearly two years ago and didn’t know about the book shop, so thanks! Like you, I have a fondness for the bygone era and for thrift shopping. Can’t wait to see the pics!

    • I’m glad to hear you’d have said hi – I love it when my lovely readers introduce themselves! You sound like a woman of solid tastes – the bygone era and thrift shopping – so I’m very pleased to have introduced you to a new bookish haunt! There were lots of fabulous antique and vintage shops on Steep Hill to check out!

      • I’m enjoying your pictures of Lincoln. I forgot to add something else (clue in my name) – I love to bake and do crafts too. I am on a self-imposed shopping ban right now, so I can indulge in some guilt-free thrifting when the weather turns warmer. I have put Steep Hill on the list of places to explore in spring. Can’t wait!

  2. Those boots are amazing on you – I’m wishing I’d bought a pair myself now, in fact. And the dress is the best kind of bargain: the one you really wanted when it was full price!

    • I know – how lucky was I?! They are fabulous boots – and I can walk in them comfortably, which is always a bonus! Just the right height to be both office and evening appropriate!

  3. Those boots are to die for! Fabulous find 🙂

    And will look forward to the Lincoln post – it’s just up the road from Nottingham, really, and I grew up in Lincs so am very familiar with it. I love the shops on Steep Hill. Did you find the cheese society cafe?

    • Oh no – we somehow missed that one! And I do love my cheese! 😦

      It’s a beautiful place! We didn’t have nearly enough time there – could have spent a whole weekend exploring, shopping, sight-seeing… I had no idea it was so lovely! 😀

  4. Oooh, I have the “first” version of that dress from two years ago (it’s a bit longer with a pencil skirt hem) and it’s *amazing*. An excellent purchase – it’s so comfortable and so wearable. Excellent find!

    • Why doesn’t that surprise me?! 😀 Yes, I can see you in this dress (in fact, I probably have!)…

      Funnily enough, I was standing in front of the mirror last night thinking about narrowing the hem to a pencil style. Or I might just keep an eye out for another charity shop bargain instead!

Leave a Reply

