Actually, literally… really?

Just over a year ago now I was trapped on a bus with a schoolgirl who informed everyone loudly that she was literally going to DIE if her iphone didn’t arrive the next morning. I was reminded of her tonight, when a student on my train announced to her friends that she would actually kill herself if she had to stand up for the 20 minute journey up to Banbury.

Twenty minutes later she was still whining loudly about the fact that the train was actual carnage, and I was about ready to buy her a razor blade. Or at least deliver a lecture on the etymological roots of “carnage“, potentially including a demonstration.

Oh, did I mention that this was after she’d commented that the students on her friend’s uni course really needed to expand their vocabulary?

Gah!

9 thoughts on “Actually, literally… really?

    • Very good point!

      You have no idea how great it was to vent that upon you at our unexpected meeting – nor just how much I fumed silently the entire walk home. I was swearing under my breath – I never swear!

      I think the poor girl may have been the brunt of several days of pent-up frustration! x

  1. It’s good to get it out of your system! The public make public transport unbearable, in fact they make public places unbearable. I once overheard a conversation in my university library between two undergraduates who were debating what is the difference between a novel and a short story. The answer they decided on? A short story is shorter, and sometimes has pictures. The tirade I embarked upon when I got home was lengthy and abusive, so I understand!!

      • I know, I was amazed. I went to Warwick, and I know that if those girls were studying English they must have needed very high grades to get onto the course, it was bizarre!

        • Unfortunately I don’t think we can draw parallels between university and intelligence any more. Go to the right school, get the right teachers who teach in a way that suits your learning style, and you’ll go far! The girls on the train yesterday were definitely well-educated, public school girls – they’d had priviliged learning. Still not an ounce of knowledge of the world between them, and no innate common sense. I don’t think it occured to them that they might be insulting or irritating those around them – they were entirely self-involved. That kind of intelligence can’t necessarily be taught!

Leave a Reply

