Return to reality

Yup, I’m back. I have just enjoyed one of the most wonderful and relaxing two weeks I can recall, and unlike most holidays, I actually feel I’ve been away longer than I have! Of course, this didn’t make me any less loathe to return to the rat race…

Outfit shot, Saturday April 16th –
including pink seamed hold-ups by Jonathan Aston at UK Tights

Although I spent the first few days away in Brighton at conference, my break proper began on the morning of Wednesday 20th April, when we packed our bags and headed for the M6 northbound. We were aiming for Stirling, the “Gateway to the Highlands”, and, being the setting for my masters degree, something of a homecoming of sorts for me. Dapper knew a lovely little B&B in Bridge of Allan and also has a friend living in the centre, in the old castle barracks. We were able to meet up with the lovely lady herself, and proceeded to an old favourite haunt of mine, the Settle Inn for a delightful night of natter, serenaded by folk music! A great start to what would turn out to be a fantastic holiday!

And for the details of the holiday you’re going to have to wait! I’ll be offering the details alongside a select few photographs over the next few days, so expect the usual excess of historical visit pictures headed your way….

Meanwhile, here are some outfit shots from before and during, my Brighton trip.

And a happy May Day to one and all!

10 thoughts on “Return to reality

  1. Wow, the dress in the middle picture looks absolutely stunning on you.

    I know what you mean about the prospect of returning to work though, ghastly isn’t it? x

  2. It sounds like a very well-deserved break from the treadmill. I know what you mean – it feels like it’s been far longer than two weeks and I feel very mentally relaxed (although my body seems to be rejecting the idea of returning to work as I’ve been under the weather the past day or so) Anyhow, I hope the return to work isn’t too dreadful and I look forward to seeing your photos of your holiday, and to seeing your good self again soon! x

    • Do you know, I feel more rested and relaxed now than I have since I started work here. It has been 16 months of treadmilling, and I’m glad I was finally able to give myself a proper break! Now, roll on summer for the next long haul holiday…

      Oh, and we need to book in for the Red Lion walk again, now that the sun seems to have decided to stick around a bit!

      xx

  3. Thpppppth to the return to work – and I’ve only had four days! I’m so glad you had such a wonderful time, it’s amazing what a good break can do for the soul 🙂 xxx

    • It really is – I feel pretty fantastic! But yes – Thpppppth to work indeed, and I’m sure you’re not the only one feeling much the same after 4 days as 2 weeks! xxxx

    • Get thee to UK Tights, but be warned: after one wear I had to resort to a suspender belt as they refused to hold-up any longer. And after the fun you’ve had with such things today… 😀

Leave a Reply

