It is never too late to be what you might have been

Read this. It’s what I want to say. But far more eloquently put than I could ever manage.

Today I was traveling into work by train. I came so very close to staying in bed half an hour longer, getting the next train half an hour later – something was pulling me back under my duvet, back into the comfort of sleep. But I fought it. Because that’s what we do, isn’t it: we accept that things have to be done and we do them. Getting out of bed in the morning, well, it’s one of those inevitable things.

I wish I had listened to the little voice in my head telling me to go back to bed. Because my train? Was cancelled. 38 minutes on the platform left me shivering and miserable. And cursing the commute even more than usual.

Some things never change…

6 thoughts on “It is never too late to be what you might have been

  1. That’s a really great article. I’d love to say I’m not at all swayed by the expectations of my friends and family, but actually that wouldn’t be true. Sometimes expectation weighs heavily and it’s good to just kick back and rebel. X

    • I agree completely. It’s hard not to be swayed by others’ expectations, and it’s very difficult sometimes to be seen to “let people down”, but it’s good for the soul too! xx

    • It is something we all ought to know AND act upon – which is the tricky bit I think… But sometimes we just need someone to tell us it’s ok, which is why I think this speech is so fantastic. xx

Leave a Reply

