Making midi

On arrival at work this morning, wearing this outfit plus my black beret, I was informed by my boss that I look like something from a Mike Leigh film. “In a good way.” I take that as a compliment…

I really wanted to recreate the midi looks inspired by Golden Hands, and so raided my wardrobe for something appropriate to play with. This maxi dress has elasticated tiers, making it ideal for shortening and lengthening with little effort. To ensure the shorter length stayed put, I added a belt under my bust, then folded the excess fabric over it to create a make-shift waistband.

Midi lengths need a higher waistline to avoid looking frumpy, so I felt this worked particularly well!

One thought on “Making midi

Leave a Reply

