Patterns and pearls

Fever Maui Atlantis dress in fuscia, scored from ebay, brand new with tags, for just under £20, worn with my first attempt at a daywear-appropriate petticoat.

Having had a whole week off work over half term, Dapper was all in favour of a nice, quiet wind-down this weekend. So it was that our only excursion was literally around the corner to Fentham Hall, where they were holding their regular antiques and collectibles fair. We weren’t really intending to spend, more intent on checking the sorts of good on offer. There was a great range of antique and vintage goods, a book stall selling Dapper’s beloved Osprey military histories, and a bric-a-brac stall selling all sorts of cute goodies from tiny cosmetics tins to vintage dress patterns. In amongst the £1 pattern bargains I picked up these two beauties.

I also picked up a pair of vintage silk embroidered handkerchiefs, still boxed, for myself, whilst Dapper bought an Osprey book for his collection. But the real find of the day was a simple ring.

I have wanted a single pearl in a ring for a very long time. I have tried many on, and the general feeling has always been that the pearl was too big for my fingers, the shoulders too broad, the setting too high. When I saw this ring I fell in love. I tried it on, to find it a perfect fit for my middle finger. The shoulders of the 9ct gold band narrow to make it more delicate than most I’ve tried, and the pearl, being clasped between the shoulders rather than in a raised setting, makes it a far less intrusive addition to my narrow fingers. I had finally found the one ring I’d been searching for for so long…

Then we went home.

After lunch and a cup of tea, Dapper asked me what I was thinking. Was I , perchance, thinking of the ring? Did I want the ring? Because all I had to say was yes, and he’d buy it for me…

😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

We rounded the day off by wandering the grounds enjoying the warm rays of the evening sunshine, trying and failing to catch the beauty of the fading sunlight on camera.

6 thoughts on “Patterns and pearls

  1. Awwwwww…..what a star you have in that dear man of yours. It’s a beautiful ring too, I can understand the pleasure in finding it! xxx

Leave a Reply

