Heat-less curling

Last night I went to bed like this:

My friend Sarah had left this link to Grosgrain blog on my facebook wall, with a link saying she thought it might be my kind of thing. She was right!

I only left these in overnight, not for the recommended 24 hours, but am working on a way that I can create the same look without the headband (just not my style – I can’t really carry off boho chic…) and leave them in longer, for a tighter end result. Still, I’m delighted to have been shown a new, more comfortable way to create waves than my favoured rag-tying!

13 thoughts on “Heat-less curling

  1. Ooh, that looks fantastic! I definitely have to try this: I’ve never tried using rags because I normally go to the gym first thing in the morning and I’d either have to leave them in and look silly or take them out and ruin the curls, but this looks almost as good up as it does down!

    • See, if I could only find a way to do it without the elastic showing…

      A couple of years ago all the shops were selling fake plait hairbands, but I couldn’t find one anywhere in my colour. I might try twisting a piece from above each ear and pinning, then wrapping the hair around that rather than the elastic – see if it’ll hold well enough to work.

      Working on it! πŸ™‚

      • Thank you for posting this, I wanted to try this out immediately, but did not have elastic band.I used a cotton belt from a dress wrapped around my head and tied it with a bow. It still works, and I moved it up into headband position, which looks neater than the ribbon on the forehead (think 40s style work scarf). Maybe that works for you, too? Since it is 36C outside today, I might just leave it in.

        • I tried this on Thursday night, slept on it, it stayed so neat, I kept it this way al Friday, and let the curls out on Saturday morning! Hairband style is definitely the way to go! πŸ™‚

  2. I have to say I like the curls but with your hair up you remind me of a flapper. I’ll be trying this as soon as I can get a hold of a headband, this seems so much more comfortable than the bendy rollers I’ve been using so thank you!

    • Glad to help! Yes, I can see what you mean about the flapper look – and Dapper always says he likes the 20s-30s look for me too. I’ll have to keep experimenting!

  3. Looks great! I know what you mean about the elastic as it’s such a nice up-do only slightly spoiled by the elastic.

    I am a bit creeped out by the headband plaits but might experiment with covering the elastic in ribbon somehow…

    x x x

  4. Looks great! I do this except with a normal elastic headband and I wear it a little higher on the head rather than on the forehead… It works just the same if you want to be able to wear it out and you can choose a headband that you like too!!!

Leave a Reply

