Autumnal sundresses

floradita, floral, sundress, dorothy perkins, 60s, mad men, caroline, secondhand shopper

How I styled the dress on her first outing last Friday: Matalan black cardi; Peacocks belt; gifted vintage brooch, Coast net petticoat and Primark camel pumps.

I wrote a couple of months ago about the beautiful Floradita range at Dorothy Perkins. Their designs have a wonderfully genuine retro feel to them, ideal for recreating the Mad Men vibe. So when I was randomly browsing the Dotty P’s website and spotted one in the online sale and with an extra 20% off last week, I just had to treat myself.

floradita, floral, sundress, dorothy perkins, 60s, mad men, caroline, secondhand shopper

Brooch detail – such a great match!

Buying a “sun” dress in the early autumn of the coldest summer of the last 20 years may seem a little ironic, but this dress ticks a lot of cross-seasonal boxes. It is patterned in greens browns and ochres – one might almost say autumnal colours – and contains black tones, providing a useful alternative neutral. Just now it works well with natural tights and a lightweight cardi, but come the colder months it’ll work equally well with my 80 denier dark green tights and camel heels for a funky office look, or with a pair of brown knee boots and a thick chunky knit at the weekend. Over a long-sleeved polo neck, it will take on a slightly 70s vibe. And although the skirt is already lined, I can’t help but think it will take on a rather marvellous classic vintage feel paired with another item from my wishlist, a lovely green House of Olivier petticoat…

floradita, floral, sundress, dorothy perkins, 60s, mad men, caroline, secondhand shopperI think this is the kind of dress that works well into the evening as well. I plan on wearing mine out with higher heels, a net underskirt and my Gran’s 60s aligator handbag – in fact, that is what I’ll be wearing tonight for my sister’s 30s birthday! A versatile dress such as this is always a bargain, but especially so in the sale!

< Dress as styled for the office today, with modesty cami (M&S), green lurex cardigan (Topshop) and black peep-toe heels (M&S).
Belt and Brooch as before.

Green floral sun dress: £50 £35 from Dorothy Perkins.

6 thoughts on “Autumnal sundresses

  1. You look lovely! Those colors are fantastic. I keep hoping that I’ll stumble upon beautiful dresses like this here in the US somewhere, but I may just have to cave in and order online!

    charmingpumpkin.blogspot.com

    • Thanks Kelsey – I think sometimes, online ordering is the only way to go, unfortunatley… But I must say, I often wish I could lay hands on some of the astonishing dresses that come out of US sites like Modcloth – their clothing range is to die for! 🙂

    • You’re too sweet Mandi – thank you! Yes, I don’t know why I looked up in that picture, I just glanced upwards right as the camera flashed – it was a total accident! xx

Leave a Reply

