Pumpkins and purples

Sweater: Primark; dress: Dotty P’s; boots: M&S; tights: errrm… can’t recall!

Hair slide: handmade. Tutorial to follow on sew make believe blog

Autumn has finally arrived! My local corner shop had a basket of pumpkins for sale last evening. I could see my breath on the air as I awaited my lift this morning. I took a hot water bottle to bed with me last night, and didn’t want to leave the warmth of the duvet behind when I awoke today!

All of which means one, very special, very exciting thing, as far as I’m concerned. That I can start wearing boots again!

It also means cooking lots of lovely seasonal food. Last night, Ben brought around one half of the biggest pumpkin I have seen in ages. A couple of hours in the kitchen left me with:

Thai pumpkin soup:

For this I boiled cubed pumpkin in vegetable stock with some minced ginger, garlic and lime juice. Rather than going down the blending route, I put my pumpkin through a sieve with a wooden spoon. Once most of the liquid was through, I kept the puree back for savoury muffins. I then added some brown rice (leftover from the stuffed pumpkins below), sliced spring onions, sliced red chilli, chopped tomatoes, a handful of toasted almonds, a teaspoon of toasted sesame seeds and half a tin of coconut cream. Yum!

Stuffed pumpkin:

Stuffed with brown rice, chick peas, chopped tomatoes, spring onions, and topped with grated cheese and a drizzle of oil, then baked until the pumpkin had softened and the out-facing chick peas had a crunch! I pre-baked the pumpkin halves for about 30 mins in a bain marie before adding the stuffing to ensure they cooked through without drying out.

Pumpkin and cheddar muffins:

As I had the puree left I wanted to make something savoury, but was unsure what, exactly. A quick google turned up this recipe – and it is delicious!

Wanting to use up odds from the fridge, I replaced the cayenne pepper with half a finely chopped chilli and used mixed seeds on top. I also added a spoonful of peanut butter to the batter mix.

AND I’ve still some flesh left for pumpkin fritters tomorrow evening. Not half bad for half a pumpkin! šŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “Pumpkins and purples

  1. Good grief dude, how on earth did you manage to do all that?! I thought I did well to stew some apples on Saturday – I would have had to make a pie, a crumble, a strudel and a cake to live up to those culinary treats of yours!

    (I am only horrifically jealous, of course. Ah, Dapper is one lucky boy :))

    • All the recipes kinda tied in with one another – using roughly the same ingredients… So they just naturally fell together… Or – what the hell – I’m Wonder Woman!!! šŸ˜€

    • Today, I would almost argue winter is here!!! It’s freezing! Apparently there’s snow up in the Scottish Borders – we’re going further north than that for my brother’s wedding on Saturday! Might have to rethink the footwear for my outfit…

  2. Ooh yummmy I was just starting to think about looking for pumpkin recipes since I know I will have a few knocking about the house come Halloween!! You look ace, too.

    • Thank you sweetie!

      I must confess, the soup and stuffed pumpkin recipes were made up from what I had knocking about that needs using up before The Big Move. But the pumpkin muffin recipe is a definite winner, and I’m going to search for pumpkin fritter recipes for tonight – as I STILL have a it of flesh & puree left to use! xx

  3. I actually think you should have had a Wonder Woman outfit on! My goodness Caroline, you’ve been busy! It all looks mouthwatering and you look completely gorgeous, as always.
    Where are you moving to this time?
    In any case, I see you’re well and fighting fit. Love to you and say hello to Dapper from me.
    Auntie Karen xxx

    • Aww – thanks Aunty K!

      I’m moving in with Dapper at the end of the month! I can’t wait! But it is even further away from work (and a teeny bit closer North – I’m moving back up, little by little…) near Solihull.

      Love to all the family, and hope to see you soon! xxx

      • That’s lovely news. You’re so well suited…if I’ve ever seen a couple that is, it’s you two!
        Good luck for the move. We won’t be making the wedding this weekend šŸ˜¦ But we’ll see you all soon xxx

        • Thank you – we like to think we’re well suited too! šŸ˜€

          It’s a shame we’ll be missing you this weekend (although Dapper can’t make it either – school stuff & OFSTED!) but hopefully it won’t be too long until we see you. Take care xxx

  4. 100% making that soup tonight- my first ever pumpkin venture!

    It’s been a while since I’ve popped over here for a read- so happy to see that life is treating you brilliantly šŸ™‚

  5. I love the hair clip and all of that food looks delicious. I have half a squash in the fridge, I might try adapting your stuffed pumpkin idea for dinner, or perhaps the soup. Decisions decisions!

Leave a Reply

