New beginnings

I’m not going to lie, I had a fantastic day today. I got up with Dapper and made his sandwiches while he got ready for work. I waved him off at quarter to eight and switched on my laptop. I put a load of washing in whilst the laptop got itself going, then worked til noon, hung out the washing and grabbed a bowl of leftover pasta before setting back to work for the afternoon, with a pot of tea at my elbow. I worked until Dapper came home, then turned off my laptop and made another pot of tea. And all the while I wanted to pinch myself, asking, is this really my life now? Do I really live here? Can I really work from home?

I’m not saying it’s all amazing. I’m sure I’ll begin to feel the isolation kick in as the days get shorter and darker. No doubt there will be days when I get frustrated at the fact that any technical issues have to be fixed either by myself or by telephone, and not left in the hands of a helpful IT type while I make my colleagues a round of tea. And, of course, I have the joy of facing every home-worker’s nemesis, the cold factor – I am under no illusions that my blanket won’t prove its worth this winter!

Home-working will also mean some changes to the blog. There will still be outfit shots, but I can’t promise nearly as many. I imagine there will be days of the week when I want to dress up, and of course there will still be Wednesdays in the office, but the outfit shots may prove a little more sporadic. Once we’re fully settled, you can expect plenty more historical hotspot weekend trips, and I can promise plenty of food-related blogging as I fulfill two of my aims for this winter: to finally put the slow cooker to good use and to work my way through all the recipes in the amazing recipe book my friends had printed for my 30th birthday. And, naturally, the wishlist shopping and crafting posts will continue unabated, possibly with even more gusto as I am left more time to browse the web and to craft!

I do hope these minor changes won’t deter too many of you from stopping by. I do appreciate every one of my lovely readers, and will try to keep changes to a minimum… But I simply can’t imagine today’s delightful outfit comprising jeggings, an oversized cable-knit sweater-dress and hiking socks to be of interest to any of you!

15 thoughts on “New beginnings

  1. Aww, it all sounds absolutely delightful šŸ™‚ I think the main thing is while of course there will be moments of upset and frustration, they are (astronomically) outweighed by what you’ve gained. What could be better than that?! šŸ™‚ xx

  2. Fewer outfit points won’t stop me dropping by. Looking forward to the cooking and crafting.

    Your day sounded great. Not sure home working is for me, but I certainly admire those who do.

  3. I work from home and definitely dress for comfort and warmth. I have a really thick cardi and socks that I wear and my husband says I look like a grandad in it. I love working from home but sometimes wish I could get dressed up a bit more. I just try and fit in the occasional girls lunch and networking event to make up for the isolation.

    • I think that sounds like a good excuse to dress up = perhaps something I’ll factor in in the future! Also, I run live “webinars” on occasion, so make sure I look smart for these too!

  4. So happy to hear your settling in. =) I suspect that working from home will be lovely. And for what it’s worth, if I worked from home I would probably just wear my comfy PJs all day. =)

    • That is the temptation – but I think pyschologically I need to be dressed to really get down to work. But I certainly dress down by comparison – the leggings are getting a real work out! šŸ˜€

  5. I’m so glad you’re enjoying it: as I’ve probably said a million times before, I absolutely love working from home, and could never go back to an office now – I doubt anyone would have me, even if I wanted to! It’s a wonderful feeling to be totally in charge of your day šŸ™‚

    • It is a wonderful feeling – and even more so to be able to avoid the hell of the commute/other commuters! Here’s hoping my Wednesdays don’t stay bad enough to make up for the rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

