What I wore last Wednesday…

Dress & handmade necklace: from Kelsey; cardigan: Matalan; belt: taken off another dress via Tu at Sainsbury’s; boots: Snow MaidensAgain!

Apparently one of the coldest days of the year, so there was little chance of wearing anything other than the Snow Maids on my feet! I actually had a lot of layers on here – a fitted slip, two layers of tights and a long-sleeved t-shirt which you can’t even see in the photo. Thankfully I had to run across the bridge for my train, so wasn’t even on the platform long enough to feel the cold!

********

On my train last Wednesday morning we were more crammed in than usual. I went out of my way in finding an unreserved seat – beside a fellow whose seat was, in fact, reserved from Banbury onwards – and settled in with my book. I figured he would probably be vacating his seat before Banbury, or if not, that someone would get on and ask for his seat, which would require me to move, but at least leave me seated…

At Banbury he was still in the seat. A fella got on and came over to where we were sitting. “I’ve reserved that seat,” he directed at me.

I got up to let the fella move. But he didn’t. He stayed put. The new fella directed a woman into what had moments before been my seat, and proceeded to flirt outrageously with her. Something that might prove more difficult, I suppose, were she in the window seat he had actually reserved…

“Excuse me,” I said, “But I think I was in the unreserved seat, 43. The window is seat 44.”

Everyone stared at me blankly, then apparently simultaneously decided to ignore my protestations.

This is exactly the kind of behaviour that can make me incredibly angry on the commute. It can, in fact, ruin a perfectly good Wednesday in its entirety. There are ways to balance out the ire, but as they usually require some act of chivalry of magnanimous proportions, I don’t expect miracles. I was just wondering whether a ruined day was worthy of fighting my corner, when I heard a voice from behind.

“Excuse me. You can take my seat.” A middle-aged businessman smiled up at me. “Please – I’ll be sitting down all day anyway.”

And with that my frown emphaticaly somersaulted upside down. Suddenly, the world was at rights again. In fact, better than rights. Because not only had someone acted in a gentlemanly way, but that same someone had shown up the perpetrators of quite ungentlemanly behaviour in the process. Neither the young fella in the window seat nor the fella whose seat he was in could look me, or anyone else in the vicinity, in the eye for the duration of the journey.

I know, these are such little things in the grand scheme, but they really do matter. To me, at the very least.

6 thoughts on “What I wore last Wednesday…

    • I usually do, and in truth, on this occasion it made very little difference, sadly. I hate the commute – as you well know! I’ve had many a moan to you on the way back from Oxford! πŸ™‚

  1. At the risk of revealing my cynicism, I’m so impressed that the Gentleman #3 gave up his seat for you! That sort of thing never, ever happens to me! Usually someone does something decidedly ungentlemanly, and well… that’s the end of that. Depending upon the day, and how ladylike I’m feeling, I may or may not stand up for myself. At the very least, though, I glare. And oh, what a glorious glare it is. =) So glad your day wasn’t ruined, Caroline!

    As for the outfit, the dress and necklace look beautiful on you! I’m so glad you’re enjoying them! =D

    • I was impressed with the gentleman too, although I do find gentlemanly behaviour to be so unexpected, I find myself unsure how to deal when it actually happens! A fella held back to allow me to board the train the other day, and I was so taken aback, I hesitated, and we ended up banging into one another as we tried to board simultaneously! We had a good laugh about it though. πŸ™‚

      I LOVE this dress – it gets so many compliments when I wear it! πŸ˜€

  2. Ahhh people with bad manners make me so angry! I also experienced some ‘bad behaviour’ in public transport today: a teenager throwing her empty box of biscuits on the floor.. I don”t always speak up I admit it, but today I’d just had enough, so when she got up and started to walk towards the door I picked up her box said in my sweetest voice “oh I think you forgot your box, the bin is just there” she then had the box thrust into her hands. She didn’t know where to look and just managed a feeble ‘I was going to pick it up’ (yeah right, after leaving the bus?!). Anyyyway, as I sat back down (shaking a bit from the shock of daring to speak up) I was really surprised and happy to see 3 or 4 women turn around to smile at me and say “well done”! And like you, I instantly felt that the world was at rights again!
    So there we are, I agree these little rays of hope ARE important, very much so, to all the well behaved people out there! πŸ™‚

    • HA! Good for you! I did something similar once – a car window rolled down as I was walking along the street, and someone threw out a pastry wrapper – then pulled in at the petrol station a couple of hundred yards up the road. I picked the wrapper up and took it over saying “I think you dropped something?” The chap I was with hid – said we’d likely get beaten up for such behaviour, but I just saw red! Kudos to you for having the courage to say something! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

