Poppy red

Dress: Dorothy Perkins; cami: M&S; tights and socks: Primark; cardi: George at Asda; boots: Fly London; Poppy brooch (worn in hair); knitted and sold for Rememberance Day by a friend of my Mum’s

I find I’m far more productive working from home, if I get up and dressed first. Some days – most days – this means throwing on leggings, an oversized sweater and fluffy socks, and getting on with it. Some days, like today, I awake before the alarm, feeling refreshed and revived, and feel like spending a bit of time on myself. As soon as I slipped into this dress today I knew I wanted to wear some sort of bow or flower in my hair – I just felt like putting that bit of effort in…

I find it astonishing how enormously a lick of red lipstick can change an entire look. This particular shade of coral red lifts my skin tone, brings out the natural flush of my cheeks and the gold of my hair. When I wear a berry tone, my eyes look instantly greener. The difference is notable!

I also wanted to share with you my lupercalia gifts, presented to me most unexpectedly on Monday evening.

A bunch of yellow roses (I have ALWAYS loved yellow roses), a Gruffalo year planner and a book about Victorian murder cases (not pictured). I finally read The Suspicions of Mr Whicher over Christmas and became particularly interested in Victorian crime detection. He knows me so well! 😀

4 thoughts on “Poppy red

  1. I’ve always loved yellow roses, too. I think a teenage obsession with Ellen Olenska is at least partly to blame.

    I was thoroughly underwhelmed and disappointed by The Suspsicions of Mr Whicher. I know it was an unsolved case, but the book seemed to have so much build up before fizzling out. I did enjoy the procedural aspects of the tale, as I often do, I suppose what the author is trying to argue is that the Victorian times were the birth of detection. I’ve recently finished The Return of Captain John Emmett, which is set immediately after the war – but it scratched my detection itch in a more satisfying way. I can send it your way if you fancy reading it x

    • I really enjoyed it! I can see what you mean about it fizzling out, but knowing ahead that it was a real and unsolved case, I don’t think I had any expectations otherwise. I particularly loved the birth of detection element – the new words coming into the language, the references to literary detective stories that were somehow influenced by the case. It gave me a few more novels to dip into I think.

      The Return of Captain John Emmett sounds great, and I’d definitely like to read it, but you know what I’m going to say… I already have several of your books yet to be read!! I promise to get these back to you at some point, but wouldn’t recommend adding to the pile just yet!! Cx

Leave a Reply

