On entering wedding season…

…I always hit the inevitable stumbling block caused by a positive plethora of pretty dresses. Years of practice have left me with an arsenal of shootdowns at my disposal: it’s too short, the waist is too high/low, the neckline isn’t right, the sleeves would be unflattering on my shape, etc, etc, etc. All of which help me to keep my purse closed and my pennies inside it.

But just occasionally a dress really strikes a chord with me.

Embellished bodice soft prom dress: Β£85 from Warehouse

If I had a wedding to attend this summer, I might consider splashing the cash on this little beauty. I love the colour, I love the lace and I love the detailing. Plus, it looks to be well finished, and decently cut, with a waist in the right kinda place for me! It’s also available in coral, a favourite of mine under usual circumstances, but just not on a level with this divine cornflower blue. I’d probably splash out on a pair of white crochet lace gloves to complete the look, and carry my white lace parasol…

Unfortunately, for the first summer in rather a long time, I don’t have a wedding to attend! So unless the price drops enormously in the sale, I won’t be buying the dress! Pity. 😦


8 thoughts on “On entering wedding season…

    • Oooooh, yes, but actually getting the chace to dress up for a winter wedding is a rare treat – I already have other ideas for yours, my sweet! πŸ˜‰ x

  1. All I will say, m’dear, is that life is short and that dress is fabulous. LOVE the shade of blue, and love that it has a proper waist instead of a stupid empire waistline (like practically every other dress out right now).

    Even if there are no weddings *this* summer, surely there will be some next?

    • I think there might… I’m going to hold out for the sales I think, and if it comes down, I’ll snap it up! Then if any weddings do appear on the horizon for next year, I’ll already have a frock! πŸ˜€

  2. I’ve spotted a few frocks lately that I’d love if only I had a wedding or other party to attend. Isn’t it annoying? That dress would look divine on you. Xx

    • It’s most frustrating – I seem to have had a wedding to attend every summer since I was about 18, and suddenly – nada! Perhaps we should throw a mock wedding for the sake of buying pretty dresses – oooh, or a garden party! πŸ˜€ xx

Leave a Reply

