The Dying Art of Conversation

One of the nicest things about living in the countryside is the fact that so many people say hello to you as you pass. Like Walton-on-the-Hill, where I grew up, people here have a village mentality and will happily speak to complete strangers. By contrast, when we meet someone who responds to our greetings with a grunt, I find it almost rude. After all, manners cost nothing…

When I stumbled across this infographic on the Clipper Teas website I couldn’t resist sharing it with you all. It had never occured to me that those to whom I’m tossing a friendly¬† “hello” might think me “a bit weird”… And it offers no weight to my assertion that the likelihood of pleasantries being exchanged correlates directly to the time of day and day of the week on whuich two people pass. (During my commuter era I noted a direct link between early mornings, and especially early weekend mornings, and a willingness to acknowledge one’s fellow man!) But I still enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

