3 months on…

I do believe this is the longest I’ve ever gone without posting on Second Hand Shopper, since I began the blog in 2007. 3 months doesn’t sound as long as it has felt, though. I have had good reason for not posting, I promise – there has been a whole world of goings-on to keep me distracted.

Firstly, the last time I posted was in reference to the Catney Village Fete. For which it was warm and sunny (with one, very British, shower!) and I was able to wear this:

Shortly after the fete, however, I began to feel rather under the weather. I was nauseated a a lot of the time and quite frankly exhausted. Some of you have no doubt guessed where this is going…

In August, Dapper and I went up to Scotland for a fortnight and made our way up to Scott’s View for our usual fish supper at sunset.

Only this time, Dapper dragged me to the top of a hill and dropped down on one knee. The next day we made our way over to The Celtic Goldsmiths on the A7 to pick up the ring we had picked out last summer. It is not a diamond, it’s based on a combination of a traditional sword hilt design and the Scottish love token of primroses. The heart pattern is also the emblem of the Douglas clan, to which our family has some tenuous connection…

After this we continued our journey Northwards, stopping in to see Juju in Stirling as always, and finding our way up to the Isle of Skye. Where we climbed the Quairang, hunted dinosaur footprints on the beach and generally came to understand why the Vikings decided to call Skye “skye” (which, by the way, means land of mists or cloud and not of sky as we understand it. They had no word for sky – perhaps understood that it was a void rather than a substance…)

Not long after our return, but after a good few weeks of progressing from nausea to projectile vomiting, we finally had our first scan. Yup, guessed correctly:

What I wore to the pub on Saturday (I was on the J20 before you ask)
Dress & belt: Dotty P’s; cardi: Very Clearance via ebay; tights: Charnos; shoes: Bertie; bag: charity shop)

If you know much about pregnancy and are wondering how I look quite so bumpalicious at 15 weeks, I can inform you that it comes down to a simple formula: two babies = bigger bump! Oh yes, the sonographer at my 12 week scan took one look at my insides and called in a doctor – just to make sure she hadn’t missed a third baby, y’know! Before any one asks, twins don’t run in either family, Dapper and I are just REALLY lucky!!

So, Dapper being every bit as old fashioned as he looks, feels it important we be married before the bairns arrive, so on top of everything else, we’re organising a very simple ceremony for family on October 14th. We’re still going to have our big wedding next year, but this year will just be about getting the paperwork sorted. It has actually been remarkably stress-free to organise, probably with having had no worries about top tables, who sits where, bridesmaids, readings… And having already sorted the ceremony should make next summer a doddle too. Everything is a very relaxed and low key, so I think that helps!

And that’s me caught up! I hope you can all forgive the absence, in light of the major life changes going on – I will attempt (but can’t promise) to be better blogger from now on… and post some maternity outfits along the way!

17 thoughts on “3 months on…

  1. I do enjoy reading your blog so had missed the regular updates… But what fabulous news! Congratulations. Your engagement ring is just lovely! And 2 babies! Twice the love and twice the fun! All the very best.

    P.S. We organised our wedding in just over 3 weeks and had a very small affair. We found it to be just perfect! 🙂

    Xx

  2. Wow, that’s a lot of news to digest!! Many congratulations on both your engagement and babies! A cousin recently had twins as did a friend at work – both complete random surprises. Perhaps there’s something in the water around these parts… Wishing you a very happy first wedding and a healthy pregnancy!

  3. Congratulations! I’m also recently heard of a work colleagues wife who is pregnant with twins – also random with no history of them in the family! Twice the fun I say!

    My wedding was organised in just over 3 weeks and was a very small but select affair. Wouldn’t have wanted it any other way! 🙂

    X

  4. I know I’ve already congratulated you on Facebook, but I was SO happy to see this post pop up in my reader – I’ve really missed your blog, and am selfishly hoping you’ll keep documenting all of these changes: it must be such an exciting time for you both! Wonderful news about the wedding, and I’m actually really jealous you’re getting to have two!

  5. Oh, I was just thinking about you this morning while taking my hair out of braids. I’m so happy that such wonderful things are happening in your life right now! I actually teared up reading your post! Congratulations!

  6. Wow – I don’t know whether to congratulate you first on the engagement, pregnancy, or impending wedding! What an exciting update 🙂 Please do start posting regularly again – I’ve missed reading about your adventures!

  7. I bloody knew it! Am beyond beaming for you both Cie – it’s such wonderful news. You don’t like to do things by halves now do you?! Why not add moving house or starting a new job to your list – being engaged, then married and having two babies is clearly not enough to be going on with 🙂

    Congratulations my sweet – much love to you, Dapper and the mini Dappers!
    A x

  8. I’m a lurker but I missed you too. So glad your absence has been for such lovely news, congratulations to you both, wishing you a long and very happy life together

  9. I’m so glad you came back to the blog and shared your news, I was worried you’d abandoned it altogether. And though I knew you were engaged and pregnant, I had no idea you were getting married so soon. That’s like, NEXT WEEKEND! So exciting! Hope it all goes well and you share some pictures of whatever fabulous outfit you decide on.
    xx

  10. Yes, she’s back! It’s so good to have you back my dear, and as you can tell you’ve been sorely missed!

    It’s lovely to read about the news in the cold hard light of blog, and I didn’t realise the wedding was so soon. That’s very exciting! I’m certainly hoping there’ll be a big party at some point?!

    Again, massive congratulations and lots of love from both Andy and I! *hugs*

  11. Wow! Fabulous news! Your engagement ring is beautiful and your bump is too! Congratulations!

    Greetings from a viking up north who really enjoys your blog. Discovered it in June/July. 🙂

    Sulvis

  12. Hi, I am (or was!) a lurker too – really enjoy reading your blog as I love charity shopping too, and am also an editor. Had been worried something was wrong in last few months, so delighted to hear your news. We have four kids (no twins though!) – hard work but fantastic. Many congrats and all the very best to you both/all! Sarah XXX

  13. Lurker who’s missed you and boy, I’m glad to read such happy news. All the best to you and I’m looking forward to hearing all about the exciting times ahead. Sharon

  14. Another long-time blog lurker – wishing you a (double!) congratulations! So exciting and blissful. Ain’t life grand? 🙂

Leave a Reply

