Apple mad

We’ve had something of a bumper crop of apples this year, and whilst a lot are wrapped in newspaper and boxed up in one of the outbuildings, and more still are sliced and frozen in one of the outdoor chest freezers up at the hall, I had several pounds that needed using up as soon as possible. Somehow, between working, ebaying, crafting for two forthcoming fairs and looking after twins, I managed to make up four different apple-based preserves over the last week!

CIMG7933

I made up another batch of the cardamom apple jam I made with our last bumper crop – as it proved very popular with various family members. I also tried two different chutney recipes, to see which will turn out tastier. And, I attempted a twist on the ever popular chill jam recipe, replacing the usual kilo of tomatoes with a kilo of grated apples instead. It is slightly spicier than usual, but still good I think… Just might need a spot more sugar and orange juice, and perhaps another 500g of apple next time I try!

* * * * * * * *

We went to a simply wonderful wedding at the weekend (congratulations to the lovely Mikey and his beautiful wife, Jen!) yet somehow failed to find the time to take any outfit shots! So, I’ve stolen a couple from facebook (courtesy of the lovely Erin) to give you an indication of what I wore – it’s really my only dressy dress that fits just now, so no doubt it’ll make another appearance during the party season…

 outfits

girls

With the gorgeous Nat & Laura

It was so great to get together with so many of our university friends once again – I can’t remember the last time I laughed so hard or danced so long! We left the boys with Nanny and enjoyed an uninterrupted night of sleep – not to mention a truly indulgent afternoon nap – I swear Dapper came back looking ten years younger! I came back, unfortunately, with a stinking cold, so am dosed up on lemsip this week. The joys of reacquainting oneself with the outside world after months of hibernation – my immune system doesn’t know what’s hit it!

Leave a Reply

