Re-useful #1: “effervescent multi-vitamin” (Berocca) containers

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m trying to find secondary uses for as much of my household waste as possible, and thought I would invite you to join me on my journey. My first entry in this new series is about the humble Berocca tube.

I had planned on using these to store seeds saved from my garden, but my reading suggests paper envelopes are a better choice. They are, however, perfect for storing dried herbs to use over winter once the fresh herbs are dormant. I have more than enough for this.

This week’s scorching weather has seen me offering the boys a daily dose of home-made lollipop. I usually make these from fresh fruit puree or leftover smoothies, and often wish I had another set of moulds to make some for myself…

CIMG0095

Enter the Berocca tube. Simply fill with your flavour of choice, wrap a lollipop stick with a bit of foil or clingfilm and insert into the top of the tube, wrapping the foil/clingfilm around the top so that the stick “sticks” out. Stand in your freezer until frozen, then store in a ice-cream tub or freezer bag for hot sunny days!

Leave a Reply

