What I wore for… a wedding in London!

CIMG0355 

Dress: Hell Bunny via Aspire; petticoat: House of Olivier; shoes: M&S;  cardi: Dotty P’s; sunglasses: Boots; white hold-ups (their first outing since my own wedding!): Charnos; wrist gloves and clutch: both vintage, from charity shops

CIMG0364

Travelling outfit: mac: Primark; ballet flats: New Look; brolly: Matalan; overnight bag/satchel: a gift from my Mum’s new craft/gift shop! (More on that later…)

My first proper girly outing since the boys were born! Chrissie was my best mate at school, and as Sarah and I were the only “old skool” representatives there, we elected to leave the families behind and make a day of it! We met at Waterloo at noon, caught a train straight to Kingston and enjoyed a leisurely lunch on the waterfront whilst we caught up before making our way to the venue.

20140824_162025

It was a gorgeous wedding – the bride looked simply stunning in white lace, and the venue, aptly for Chrissie a rowing club, was decked out in home-made vintage-style bunting and stunning country floral arrangements. We enjoyed an afternoon tea made by the wedding party, served on tiered cake stands made from mismatched vintage china and vinyls. Our places were marked with luggage tags tied to tea cups, each of which was our personal wedding favour. After tea we danced, then enjoyed an informal supper of Pieminster pies with mash and mushy peas. Sarah and I caught the last train back to London in time to catch the last tube home to hers.

20140824_164908

20140824_17502120140824_170125

20140824_194504 20140824_192249

As for what I wore, well, that’s a fun story in itself! Dapper and I went into Solihull the week before the wedding, to find him a pair of sandals in the sales. We were walking past Aspire and he suggested we have a quick look in the sale in case there was something I could wear. The only dress that jumped out and was available in a size 16 was this Hell Bunny dress. I duly tried it on, but… it was too big!! The 14 fit like a glove, and Dapper offered to buy it for me. On sale at £27.50 (half price) it was a definite bargain!

And the gloves? Well, I wanted to look polished as it was a wedding, but not to over the top, as a hat might. The weather was also a bit iffy, so, a sun hat might look out of place. I thought the gloves pulled my outfit together, but not in an obvious or unfitting way. And, y’know, I like wearing them!

Meanwhile, at home it seems the boys were having a whale of a time – Conall enjoyed a teddy bear’s picnic, before Hal rode in and slaughtered the teddy… great fun!

CIMG0379 CIMG0371

Leave a Reply

