Notes from the big girl who doesn’t quite have what it takes…

Ok, I know, there have been no outfit shots for a few days… because between bowling (which the skinny teen in the neighbouring aisle may have managed in a micro mini, but places me very practically in pants) and dog-walking (jeans and trainers only thank you very much!) I’ve been pretty style-less. Bowling-wise it was worth it, if nothing else for the 10 minutes of silence punctuated by “I just can’t believe you’re wearing jeans” from a shocked Elena on her arrival at mine (Are y’all getting sick of my jeans-related moaning yet? Just give me a yell when my hang-ups get too boring for you 😉 ).

I don’t know how much of this is Easter Egg related (not that I had Easter Eggs – we agreed not to in our house) but there seems to have been a lot of talk about today regarding weight, shape and size. In the office we suddenly found ourselves creating tape measures out of strips of paper and calculating our Waist to Hip Ratio (WHR). Optimum for childbearing is apparently 0.7 or 70%. Which I think puts my 69% squarely on target! Unfortunately, my BMI is not so spot on – being at the top end of the “overweight category”, too close to obese for my liking…

Then there’s this article from The Times Online (I do work at work, honest, I just sometimes accidentally find interesting features at the same time 😀 ) which celebrates the return of the curvaceous figure, with Mad Men’s Joan Holloway (yes, her again) firmly at the figurehead. At least this feature realistically notes the limitations of the new curves:

“Shape is making a comeback, but our perspective has adjusted and now the curvier figure has to obey certain rules. You need a small waist and a flat stomach to contrast with those fuller hips. A pair of nice arms, good ankles and a well-defined clavicle make all the difference. Above all, shape has to be dressed right for it to work, and that means finding the fashions that need filling out…”

From here we reach the crux of the tale, the element of the feature that really grabbed me. Finally, someone able to sum up exactly how I feel about casual clothes:

“Every time Christina Hendricks (Joan in Mad Men) is interviewed and photographed in contemporary clothes, you are reminded that casual, undone and edgy do no favours for the hourglass figure. In that early 1960s look, with asset-packing sheath and immaculate up-do, any woman would die to look like her. But in a thigh-skimming asymmetric number with a frill down the front or, God forbid, jeans and T-shirt, she looks like the big girl who doesn’t quite have what it takes.”

********

While we’re on the subject of The Times Online’s fashion sub-section, check out their Shapely Chic feature about dressing a size 16 (or larger) figure. Unusually enough, there are actually some good tips in this one (rather than the same old “wear tailored black: it’s slimming” refrain), many of which I do apply – for e.g “- Don’t be afraid to stand out. This season’s brights will make sure your shift looks not the least bit sensible”, which I adopted last week with my hot pink tights. Do bear in mind that this list is not definitive. Although I wear a lot of demure skirt lengths, I’m also very fond of getting my pins out – always do what works for you!

********

Yup, alongside the sunglasses, the first summer dress has come out of hiding. Spring clean, spring green and every bit as perfect as it was last year – I still think this was one of George’s best numbers ever!

image000

Dress and shrug: George;
shoes: charity shop; belt: Topshop

9 thoughts on “Notes from the big girl who doesn’t quite have what it takes…

  1. That’s such a brilliant point they make about Christina Hendricks! She’s gorgeous, dressed in the “right” clothes.

    BTW, all that BMI stuff is a load of bullshit. I’m 115 lb dripping wet, and according to the calculations I was well on the road toward obesity, too. It only accounts for one body type and musculature, and if you don’t fit in with that it is terribly inaccurate.

    • I do remember Christina Hendricks looking stunning in jeans in one particular episode of Firefly, but that was when she was skinny (though always busty)… surely everyone looks right in “the right clothes” for them – sums up a fact of life! 😀

      I know the BMI stuff is iffy – the whole idea of “where” you store your fat being the important part makes a lot more sense (and I like as it makes my figure perfectly healthy!). I’ve known very narrow waisted men with broad shoulders and muscles that make their BMI hit the obese level – it’s ridiculous!

  2. Caroline!
    I haven’t left a comment in a wee while so I thought I would,
    love the dress, it’s really flattering
    I thought I would just add to the whole BMI palaver,
    you have a gorgeous figure! anyone verging towards obesity couldn’t pull off that dress, I think it’s ridiculous that people will tell you (not you specifically but for example) that your verging on obesity as it is a serious eating disorder, meaning a problem, which they cant simply diagnose from a few measurements
    still…
    have a lovely day
    Marge

    • Marge! I always enjoy your comments!

      Thanks for the compliments!

      As I’ve said above to Katie, I know the BMI thing is questionable. It is dangerous to use a method so unreliable to assess a person’s health. If you consider the perfectly healthy young girls (and boys) who will fall into the “overweight” category, the risk of eating disorders must escalate!

Leave a comment