Giving

This evening I gave away my first item on freecycle. A lady posted saying the flat she rents doesn’t allow blue tack on the walls, and she wanted a cork board for displaying her kids’ pictures on. I have two, so figured I could spare one of them for her. It’s a nice feeling, supplying someone with something they need!

I’m wearing one of my naughty Primark purchases today. I love the colour, the fabric, the cut – but will have to deal with waves of guilt and horrible images of poverty-stricken eastern sweat-shop children everytime I wear it. We’ll see how that one goes…

I’m also wearing my new shoes. They’re not quite as comfy as my red ones – they rub my little toes a bit, though they will soon break in. But the most uncomfortable aspect is the leather thong ties. I think this problem will be easy to fix, and plan to either replace them with ribbons or a little piece of elastic with a bow or button sewn over it (which will save me re-tying my bows all day!) – I have a small pile of sewing to do tonight so will attempt a fix then.

dsc02767

Dress: Primark; Cardi: New Look;
Shoes: Charity shop (Per Una)

dsc027621

Fabric close-up a la Erin

Last night I sorted out my wardrobe. Inspired by the Spring sun I got my summer clothes out of storage and locked my “strictly winter” clothes away. Opening my seasonal clothing hamper was a treat, rediscovering my beautiful sundresses and floaty tops, future outfit inspiration fleeting through my mind. It’s true, most of the sundresses cannot possibly be worn until we hit actual summer – which as a rule we Brits don’t – but they’re free of their bamboo confines at least. And with all my heavy velvet, chunky knitwear and polonecks put away there’s finally room in my closet at least my clothes rail is no longer sagging under the strain!

dsc02765

Pretty spring/summer colours!

3 thoughts on “Giving

  1. Oh how I wish as was as organised as you! I admittedly tend to wear the same things through Autumn/Winter as I do Spring/Summer and just add or remove cardigans/coats as the weather determines – a habit I am striving to change!

    Loving your hamper of goodies, particularly drawn to the stripey joy. The blurriness is still slightly disturbing though, I’m starting to think it’s my eyes rather than your camera lovely C!

    A x

  2. I LOVE freecyle … it’s ethical, free, it gives you a warm fuzzy feeling when you give stuff to people who want/need it and that warm bargainalicious feeling when you get something you like for free – what’s not to love??

    By the way, I have shifted my blog over to wordpress and it’s now sitting at http://www.sarahclive.co.uk/blog if wanted to update your link. Thanks.

  3. Amy – I also do the cardigans thing, but I have a few dresses that just won’t do winter regardless of how I layer them! I’m organised out of necessity – there’s not much room in my little flat!

    And I know the blurriness is horrible. I don’t know what’s causing it! 😦 xx

    Sarah – I will update you now! The freecycle lady was lovely too – she’d seen me advertising for cake bits so promised to dig some out! Bless her! xx

Leave a comment